On The Devil Wears Prada

by suu4leaf

Watched The Devil Wears Prada yesterday. Well the story is simple enough – not to say cliche – but then there is this touch of reality in it that makes it so align with the problem of young people nowadays. Yes we are all dreams and hopes when we first entered the society; yes we all thought we are going to contribute to the world; yes we all felt being exploited (for having to conform to every ridiculous order) and underemployed (for not being able to utilize one’s potentials) at the same time; and yes we all think we have no choice and yet we are facing choices every minute.

When Andrea went to Nigel after a bad time with Miranda, she said, “I tried and tried…” Nigel said to her, “No you aren’t trying, you are whining.” That is so true – when we think we are condescending, there is no way we ever try enough. But once you realize this, you face with another problem – a choice. Either you stop condescending, or you stop feeling condescending altogether. Since Andrea chose the latter, her career immediately took flight. But at the same time she was changed to another person, since it was necessary that she change her view of things to be successful with her career. The problem with her was that she did not know she changed, and that she herself, out of her own accord, chose to change. “I don’t have a choice,” Andrea always defended herself, thinking she was the victim of the whole thing. But no, they reminded her, there is always a choice. If she chose it, she could be the next Miranda, but she would be giving up everything else that mattered to her. And Andrea only became truly powerful that moment when she could choose the best for herself – turning the back against Miranda and when the boss called, threw the mobile phone into the fountain. Why would not one quit a job everyone yearns for? Why would not one prefer humble society to fashionable society? There is no such thing as right or wrong choice, they are just choices. Only that when we make a choice we should be ready to accept the consequences, and make the most of it so that we shall never regret our choice. Perhaps most people will think Andrea is making the right choice by leaving the “Devil” (because that is a courageous and moral act that few people dare attempt), but to me it does not matter whether she stayed or no, or whether it is a right or wrong choice. All that matters is Andrea’s attitude. I do not think harshly about Miranda, or even have a certain admiration for her, for afterall she has clung upon her choice relentlessly all her life.

No reserve, we deserve.
No retreat, we go forward.
No regret, until the end.

That is all about the film and Life.

PS I have been asking myself, what if I am Andrea? In many ways I am very like her. But then, though I am not really into labels, at least I know how to spell Gabbana.

PPS Oh no I thought Emily looked familiar and her British accent so pleased me – she was the pathetic girl from My Summer of Love and she is actually one year younger than me!!! Oh my God…… Perhaps I should wear Valentino instead of jeans?

