Today I am only for the arts.

by suu4leaf

Woke up sweating like shit and this shit followed me till the career consultancy. I have no idea why I entered that I know basic Excel when I could not even make out the subtraction formula. Anyway I had been idling enough, the book thing wears me out (I just do not know why things so simple can become so complicated), I begin thinking things (since meeting someone last week) and I have had enough of this shit of waiting everyday for Fortune to knock at my door. God looks after those who look after themselves. If there be a God this must be His truest teaching.

Well, the shit continued till I broke the tip of my newly brought umbrella.

Things got better when I joined Aubig at Tsim Sha Tsui. We had a brief lunch, and watched The Da Vinci Code. Well – ok first of all both of us had read the book. This is a crucial point. Because there is an enormous difference between going into the cinema with knowledge of the book and without. And to us who have read the book, the film has deleted so many crucial details that the story lost all its lustre. There is no reading of the Da Vinci paintings, there is one code eliminated, there is no explanation for relevant figures and places…… but then these are all crucial to the thesis of the story and without them, what is meant to be shocking fear becomes funny and ridiculous. Some say that there are too many talks in the film that it becomes dull – they do not know those are only 10% of the whole bunch of data and reasoning in the book. I held no expectations for the film except for those excellent actors, and I would say it is just fair, and can be better. I had said in one of my entries before that I disliked the book and I still dislike it, but for its cunning associations of all my favourite subjects: Renaissance Art, the myth of the Holy Grail (and it shocked me to know that the Round Table of King Arthur actually accommodated 50 knights instead of 13) and the myth of the Templars, symbols, old architecture as of chapels and abbeys, even masonry… etc. And I am still wondering if one really drinks Earl Grey with lemon (since my father drinks it with milk and I with nothing, admiring the tea’s own scent).

Discussing about the film, we walked through the drizzle towards The Hong Kong Art Museum for the Mark Rohko exhibition. I really cannot appreciate abstract art. Anything post-expressionist (well, except perhaps Van Gogh and Gauguin and such like) I feel totally beyond compass. But then, when I got to Rohko’s later (or more “signature”) works of those large panels of colour blocks, I indeed felt something in some of those. In the past, I might be very ready to agree with Rohko’s argument that art must not be decorative. Yet now I doubt. What is art before the birth of the museum? Some old plate the ancient Samarians used. A painting to teach the illiterate about Christ’s teachings. A portrait to exhibit nobility and political power. A product of scientific experiment.

Today, I am reserved for the arts. Do not come bothering me with other things.

